It’s Almost the Start of Production Day 4

Posted: September 21, 2010 in Tilt

by Jeremy Doyle

I thought I’d just share a couple of techie things real quick.

So far we’ve soot entirely with Canon DSLR’s.  There’s one scene that I was worried about because of the rolling shutter. I had a back-up XDCAM on set, but we didn’t end up needing it.

The main lens we’ve used has been a Canon 17-55 2.8 with IS, and it’s been a real champ.  I’ve also used a Canon 10-22 3.5-4.5, Canon 50 1.4, and Canon 55-200 3.5-5.6.  As far as cameras go,  by the way, we’ve been using both the 7D and T2i.

There happens to be a number of night scenes, and I’ve limited the ISO 800. Go higher than that, and it just starts to get  a little grainy for my taste.

I know this isn’t much, but thought I’d check in and share some of my initial thoughts on production.

Jeremy + T2i on TILT set

"You've got to trust me. I'm holding the camera."

Comments
  1. Thanks for tech info, Jeremy. I can’t wait to see the footage. Can you share any settings you’re using on the camera? Are you shooting with a neutral-flat profile? And what are you doing for sound?

  2. Jeremy Doyle says:

    As far as the camera settings are concerned, We’re using the standard picture style shooting with a 50 shutter (most of the time. I did jump it up once outside when the ND filter wasn’t enough for the f stop I wanted).

    For sound we’re running sync with markers (although we’ve missed marking some scenes). We have a dedicated sound guy so I’m not sure what mics he’s using. The files are being recorded to a zoom 4n.

    One thing that I should have had more of was blue gels for the lights. We have a lot of night scenes! We’ve been using a bunch of LED lights. We’ve also been using tungsten lights. I like the light from the tungstens more, but the LEDs are awesome to work with. We’ve dumped 2 of the LED panels from about 8 feet and both survived the fall. Love that.

Leave a Reply

