Father’s Day Post: Kids? Seriously?

Posted: June 20, 2010 in Tilt
Tags: , , , ,

As part of the TILT team Father’s Day tribute series, I’m adding my two cents both as son and father.

Daddy Disclaimer: Before we get started I’d like to let you know this is a fairly image-heavy post, and a couple of the images aren’t for everyone.  They are baby photos but not your typical cute baby photos.  They are the “Whoa! Somebody please clean up that newborn type” photos.  You’ve been weened.  I mean, warned.

Another thing I’ll make you aware of beforehand: I have nearly 35,000 photos of my kids in my iPhoto library. They tell a much better story than I ever could. Don’t worry, though; I didn’t use THAT many.

Kids? Seriously?

by Jeremy Doyle

I love my Dad.  He is a great Dad, as good as they get.  Although he traveled a fair deal for work while I was growing up, he was always there for me.  Both of my parents were.  It didn’t matter what event I was partaking in, they were always there. Looking back on my life, I now realize how blessed I am.

My Dad always made his family a priority (still does), and that is one of the greatest lessons I have learned in life.

Even with all I had growing up, one thing I never really wanted was kids of my own. The world can be such an ugly place, plus there’re so many children out there who have to grow up way to fast.  Why would I want to subject someone to that?

Then I met Nickie.  I loved her, but I knew that marrying her also meant children. Since I couldn’t imagine my life without Nickie, I knew that one day I’d be a dad.

Nickie and Jeremy: an HDR portrait

That day came in 2007 when Lila entered the world via Caesarean birth:

Mad at the world already.

I didn’t realize how much I loved Lila until a nurse was trying to get her to feed.  Lila was being a little stubborn when the nurse called her a “little stinker”.  The ping in my heart hit.  “Hey, she’s not a stinker!  That’s my baby girl!” is what I would have said had my brain let my emotions take over completely.

Then, in 2008, E.J. joined our family:

Welcome to the world.

We had the same doctor for each delivery.  We even had the same room at the hospital.

We had room 3215 for both children.

It’s funny how quickly our children learn from us.  Whenever the camera comes out, Lila is quick to play the ham.  Whenever the camcorder comes out, she is also quick to request her turn.  She is more than happy to be the director and tell her little brother what to do.  And he’s more than happy to oblige.  I expect great films from them someday.

When I say over there, I mean over there!


Figuring out the next shot.

Did she put him in a dress for this shot!?!?

This is art, Daddy!

Until then, we’ll settle for great home movies like “Noodle Time” by Jeremy Doyle on Vimeo:

Now at the ages of 3 and 2, it’s hard to imagine what life would be like without my kids.  Because of my own father’s great example, I can say that my family is my number one priority.  Some things that I want to do in my life will have to wait or, maybe, never even get done.  But that is a small price to pay for the joy I get each day from my children.

Laughing is good for the soul

You got a chance to check out the posts by the rest of the TILT team, too, right?

Comments
  1. As big fans of your work (in little human making as well as film making), we’re very happy to see Noodle Time on the TILT site.

    And now – let us commence singing the Noodle Time theme song nonstop for the next two weeks…

Leave a Reply

