Guest Post: Jeanne V. Bowerman on TILT

Posted: May 11, 2010 in Tilt
Tags: , , ,

Jeanne VB, Guest Blogger/TILT Pimper

So I’m minding my own business, buried in my script, writing, writing, writing, when I get a DM from @kingisafink (Julie and Jessica) asking if I’d read TILT. Umm…. No.

Write, write, write.

Pang of guilt.

DM back: umm… yes.

Email pings. There it is. TILT. Print. Game on.

Page 1: Mysterious guy… interesting.
Page 2: Snarky old lady… more interesting.
Page 3: Bar…. BINGO! I’m hooked.

I grab my tequila, sink into the couch and read.

Normally, when I read a friend’s work, I prepare them in advance that I am brutally honest. Rude even. But I thought I’d mess with them and keep them in the dark.

I read. Wow.

Brrrrring, brrrrrring. Skype-o-matic in action.

Julie’s voice. Adorable. Suddenly, I’m not feeling like my usual feedback bitch. She’s too sweet. Pull the claws back.

I proceed to give her my thoughts on the characters, my gut feelings, the plot points, what I loved, what I loved, and what I loved. Oh wait, did I hate anything? Umm… not so much.

How did Julie react to my accolades? She just kept blah, blah, blah, blahing, on and on for two hours about how great Phil is. On and on…. Oh wait, no – that was me. Julie was saying he was a demanding prick. Yeah, that’s right. Demanding. Wants more guts and gore with tons of explosions and dynamite. He insists everyone in the fictional town die a horrible, grueling death… including the kids in the orphanage. He even wanted to murder the kittens. You heard me right. Phil is a kitty killer.

But luckily for him I was here to save the day with my incredible feedback. I waved my pimp wand and all script flaws were fixed. SHAZAM! Then I sprinkled it with tequila and baptized the script, declaring it perfect.

OK, so maybe that’s not really what happened…

Here’s the real deal: Julie and Jessica took a brilliant, original idea of Phil’s and wove it into a fabulous tale of interesting characters in peril. I didn’t need to wave any magic wands at all. This script rocked.

I honestly can’t say enough good things about the characters they created. They’re still swirling in my head. No matter how hard I hit my forehead, they won’t leave.

However, it’s not only the characters that resonate. Phil’s premise is engaging, and these talented writers brought it to life.

To say I am anxious to see TILT on screen is indeed an understatement.

I am deeply honored to have had this precious sneak peek into greatness.

Hmmm…. Just realized I have the TILT scoop. Note to Phil: Bribery for my silence commences with cases of tequila.

My feedback ain’t cheap, baby.

Jeanne is a screenwriter whose latest project is an adaptation of the 2009 Pulitzer Prize winning book, Slavery by Another Name, with its author, Douglas A. Blackmon.  She’s an active blogger who maintains her own blog (Ramblings of a Recovering Insecuraholic), another dedicated to social media and writers (SMwriters.com), and a third dedicated to #ScriptChat, an ongoing Twitter conversation/community. Self-described “writer of things,” Jeanne pursues writing anything from blog posts, articles, novels, short stories, screenplays… and beyond. If it’s something that can move you, she’ll find a way to write it. Follow her on Twitter for her full crazy stream of insecurity.

Comments
  1. Julie says:

    Talking with Jeanne on Skype was a BLAST! Her feedback was honest, insightful, and incredibly helpful. And, for the record, Jeanne calling my voice adorable is definitely the pot calling the kettle adorable.

  2. Late night. 11:40PM to be exact. My laptop is on 28%. I’m working on a cover, some of my own script then I see somebody called Tyler retweet this thing about a movie called Tilt written by one Jeanne mentioning Julie and Jessica.

    Love how it’s all going full force and destroying people’s dreams then it’s all fluffy bunnies and rainbows! (all in good fun I know).

    Great post on all counts. You all owe me a coffee in the morning.

  3. LOL! That was a fun read! Jealous that Jeanne’s got the inside scoop.

  4. Man, I love you guys. So much fun to finally hear Julie’s voice… and yes, I do sound like I’m 12. Can’t wait to talk with Jessica and Phil someday too. Ohhh…. a skype tweetup!

    Seriously, TILT is great. A joy to have read. Thanks for including me on your crazy journey.

Leave a Reply

